Photo by Michael Palma Mir

Photo by Michael Palma Mir

2019-2020 Artist-in-Residence Program

Applications open on February 1st

The Sugar Hill Children's Museum of Art & Storytelling is offering an eleven-month residency for one visual artist. The selected artist will be granted a non-living studio, $7,000 honorarium and the possibility of earning additional income by leading workshops with museum patrons. Artists will have access to a 450 square-foot studio space (for floorplan, click here) and will be expected to work in their studio a minimum of 15 hours per week and present their projects by participating in open studio activities and events. The residency will end with a culminating solo show in the Artist-in-Residence studio in the Museum.

For this residency, the Museum is looking to award one visual artist whose artistic practice will resonate with children ages 3 to 8 and their families, and reflect a relationship to the demographics, location or history of Sugar Hill. The selected artist should be comfortable interacting with children, families and entertaining conversations with curious museum visitors about their studio process. 

For complete guidelines, eligibility, and selection criteria, click here

ARTIST-IN-RESIDENCE SELECTION TIMELINE

  • Friday, February 1: Applications open

  • Tuesday, March 12: Application info session: 6-7:30 pm. RSVP here.

  • Monday, April 1: Application info session: 6-7:30 pm. RSVP here.

  • Monday, April 15 @ 11:59 pm: Application deadline

  • Friday, May 31: Finalists notified

  • June 10-14: Teaching Demos with Children + Interviews

    (Held between 9:30-11:30 am on Monday June 10, Thursday June 13 and Friday June 14)

  • Early August : AIR winner announced

  • Tuesday, September 17: AIR orientation (11 am-12 pm)

  • Friday, September 20: New Artist-in-Residence moves into the Studio

    Questions? Please contact Cinzia via email at cmeneghello@sugarhillmuseum.org.